EXPLORE THE RICHNESS OF THE LOIRE VALLEY
The feudal building has lived through many centuries and played host to a variety of different personalities from the court and the arts. As outbuildings for the bishop’s palace in Tours under Saint-Martin during the 4th century. Dated back to the Renaissance period, the current structure was built by Charles VII for his “Dame de Beauté” Agnès Sorel.
The Touraine-born author Honoré de Balzac set out to acquire it, but never managed. He wanted to live there with his fervent admirer and wife, Evelyne Hanska. On June 10th, 1846, he wrote to his wife and the famous line appears in his very famous letter: